Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

ceramics: slip painting and decorating stoneware rice bowls (video)

A slow look at how to slip paint greenware and make peaceful ceramics.
Transcript

No transcript...

Welcome to my pottery studio.

Pottery is an important part of my life, and writing about it for you brings me joy.

As I mentioned in my prior post, I like to take my time doing ceramic work. The studio was so peaceful this morning, I thought I’d take the opportunity to talk to you a little. I’m not showing a complicated process, but rather a straightforward one.

I mixed up some slip from clay powder and colorants, this time using white, stone grey and chestnut brown to produce a taupe colour.

The video is about applying slip and decorating. The bowls are already in the kiln, bisque firing.

Once they come out, I’ll glaze the inside of the bowls, and film it. It might be interesting for you to see the transition from greenware, to bisque ware and then to the final product, with food, of course.

These simple, classic forms add so much to a beautifully set table. I’ve been making them so l long that I have to watch myself on the wheel, or else I’ll make one without even thinking!

There are many ways to achieve different ceramic surfaces, and experimentation is the way to find out one’s favourite techniques. I often come back to slip-painting greenware because it’s something I learned at the very beginning of my ceramics journey.

iron oxide slip applied to greenware

I have been experimenting with underglazes, which are applied after the pieces have been bisque fired. In fact, there are a couple of pieces firing in the oven right now that I’ll be using underglazes on. You apply the underglaze to a piece, glaze over it with a transparent glaze and then fire it. I’ve used this technique on pieces I made for ANT Ristorante in Novello, Italy. It’s a way to get non toxic, bright colours for details on stoneware. The edge of yellow and the bright red are both underglazes. My intention is to use underglazes when I want these sassy looks.

If you have any questions about pottery, creative living, food or wine, fire away (pun intended)!!!!

Have a great weekend - with love from the Black Forest.

0 Comments
Baur Studio
Baur Studio Podcast
An in-depth look at ceramics, food, gardening and art
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Diana Strinati Baur